Wednesday, July 29, 2009

Day 7- Bird Ridge and Bird Creek

Today we went to Bird Ridge. It was a good hike, but I don’t think the six teens who went liked parts of it because it was steep. It was very pretty, and there were a lot of really nice views. It was so nice to be able to look around and see so many different things. On the way up, it was a little hard just because people such as Bre and Myself were really tired from the hike the day before. So we were all going up kind of slow taking our time.

At the beginning of the hike, it was very easy just because it was a path, but as soon as the cement was gone is when it became a little more challenging. It was steep going up, and there were a lot of rocks. We took a lot of breaks, which were awesome! That was my favorite thing. Toward the top of the mountain, we looked down and we could see part of our group fishing. Lucky us! Almost everyone made it to the top of the mountain. Sonnet decided to be a sweetheart and stay behind a little ways with me because I was a little chicken and didn’t want to go to the top. This was because I do not like high places with a lot of rocky sides. Pipkin joined us, too. After a while Bre and Tia came down, and we all made a tent out of a poncho! Exciting, I know. It kept us dry, so we liked it a lot. Cameron, Kevin, Chase, and Scott went further up than the rest of us, mostly to the top. After they went up and had their fun and looked at the view, it was time to head down.

On the way down everyone went slow to start off with just because it would be scary and dangerous for us to run. Kevin and a few others decided to run. A lot of us fell quite a few times on the way down. Pipkin thought it would be cool to be like Superman and try to run and jump and grab onto a tree. From what I could see, it didn’t work out too well. It was kind of funny! When the trail got easier, everyone ran a lot of the ways down the mountain, which was really fun, except for the falling parts. When we all made it to the bottom, we were happy and very tired. I won’t lie -- my legs were hurting!

When we got back to the parking lot, we got dropped off at we all drank a lot of water and ate some snacks. Then we just waited until the fishing group was done. It was a good day although half of us seemed zombie like!


As we arrived, we started out fresh. The fish weren’t biting at all. All of us kept on casting out our hooks, and reeling back in our hooks, and tried again and again. I don’t know if it was the lures that we were using, but Jesse had a different one, and he caught the first legal fish. After a while of fishing, Jonre, Devin, and I had asked Jesse to set us up. After he set us up, we started to finally catch some fish, unfortunately most of them were illegal snags. Although we were getting snags, we caught a lot of legal fish. Thanks to Jesse, we started to have some fun.

This trip was probably one of the best ones we took for me. The funniest part to this fishing trip was when everyone kept falling in the holes that surrounded the area that we were fishing in. The highlight of the day was when Juan hooked on the king salmon twice, and battled it for five minutes. At the end of the day, we were tired, and hungry. Also all of our gear was covered in mud and sticky. All in all we had a good time, and it was time to leave because the tide was out.

1 comment:

  1. My phone and I both fell victim to the before mentioned "holes". Rest in peace my phone friend...and hello new I-Phone (I hope).

    ReplyDelete